You are here:  Home » Resources » Our stories » From the mouths of babes...
Explore This Section...

From the mouths of babes...

Stories from kids

Hi My name is Mia. I am 8 years old and i got a cochlear implant when i was 14 months old. I have a little sister who is about to get a cochlear like me! I live in Tasmania and when my mum growls at me i turn my cochlear off!. i wear an Fm when i am at school and my favourite food is sphagetti bolognase, and i love little athletics and listening to music, my favourite song is Big girls dont cry by Fergie and i love to put pink thru my hair.x x x xx x x x

Hi my name is Zaidyn and I am six years old. I like to play with play dough and blocks and trainsets and my wolly washer. I like school and doing my homework. At school I like to play with a new game that we can actually do at home but you haven't got this yet, you get some cards up to one to ten and get lots of pegs and the number on the middle you put the same amount of pegs. I have blue hearing aids and they help me hear. Sometimes I don't like the rustling sound that they make and I also don't like putting vaseline on them but I like my hearing aids because they are being nice and comfortable. From Zaidyn.

Hi! My name is Brooke. I am 7 years old and I got my hearing aids when I was 1. I am in Year 2, and at school I use a FM and a Handymic. I have got an elder brother Luke who is 9, and a younger sister Tayla who is nearly 6. This is a story about me. In 2003 I got hit in the head by a cricket bat and I lost all my hearing for a week. Luckily, most of it came back. We found out I have LVAS (Large Vestibular Aquaduct Syndrome) so now I have to be careful I don't bang my head. Mum says she needs to wrap my head in bubble wrap! I love to play soccer at lunchtime and I love to play netball on weekends (Tayla will start playing next year). I am very good at swimming and I love to eat spaghetti bolognaise. I have a budgie called Sharkky that I got for my birthday, and 2 cats, one called Allie and one called Snow.
Regards, Brooke.XXXXXXX

My name is William. I am 9 years old. I live in Geraldton.
I am in Year 3. I enjoy the football. I play with my dogs. Their names are Romeo and Bear. Bear is old. My godfather makes scooters.
Thanks, William

Hi, my name is Vanessa. I am 9 turning 10 in August. I am profoundly deaf. I like playing tennis, netball and basketball. I have one older sister who is Deaf like me. Her name is Natasha and she is 11 years old. We communicate in Auslan. Here is a picture of me and my sister.

My name is Alliesha and I'm in year 5. I have a brother and sister and my sister fights with me all the time. We have a puppy called Angel who chews and scratches our toys and other stuff. We also have two budgies that are white and green that belong to my brother and sister. I like going for a ride on my bike. I go to the park on my bike, too. My cousin from Perth came to live with us forever. He is 10 years old and he's a year 5 too. I have a FM so I can hear better.
Thank you. Alliesha.

Hi! My name is Hemi. I have a different type of hearing loss which is called "Auditory Neuropathy". I am 5 years old and last year I got a Cochlear Implant. My new ear has really helped me hear and my Mum says I'm not as noisy as I used to be.
I live in Fremantle with my Mum, Dad, big sister TeAmi and my new puppy 'Beck'. I go to two schools; my local school with my sister and  my school for the Deaf. I love bodyboarding at the Beach and I love playing with my Lego!

My name is Chloe, I am five years old. I have a hearing older brother Chad who is 10 years old. I attend school in Melbourne. I am fourth generation of being deaf in my family. I like to chat and write. Cheers Chloe

Disclaimer: The information contained on this website is not intended as a substitute for independent professional advice.

18-Feb-2022 8:34 AM (AEST)